Close this search box.
#Ministry News

Change begins now’, Starmer says – as Labour win historic landslide


Sir Keir Starmer has declared “change begins now” after winning a landslide victory at the general election.

The Labour leader has secured the 326 seats required for a majority in the House of Commons – putting an end to 14 years of Conservative rule.

Outgoing Prime Minister Rishi Sunak conceded defeat moments before that number was reached, declaring at his election count: “The Labour Party has won this general election and I have called Sir Keir Starmer to congratulate him on his victory.”

Shortly afterwards, a gleaming Sir Keir told a crowd of supporters: “We did it, you campaigned for it, you fought for it, you voted for it and now it has arrived, change begins now.”

He added the UK is once again experiencing the “sunlight of hope”.

“The sunlight of hope, pale at first but getting stronger through the day. Shining once again on a country with an opportunity after 14 years to get its future back.”

With more than 635 out of 650 seats declared, Labour will form the next government with a majority of at least 100.

As the election results unfolded, a seismic shift swept across the nation, marking a decisive rejection of the Conservative Party.

Reflecting on the outcome after securing his own seat, a somber Mr. Sunak acknowledged the challenging night for his party, assuming full accountability for the results.

“The British electorate has delivered a resolute message tonight… and I accept responsibility for our defeat,” he remarked.

Addressing the Conservative candidates who were unsuccessful, he added, “To the dedicated individuals who fought hard and lost tonight… I extend my heartfelt apologies.”

Among the pivotal moments of the intense election night were:

  • Several prominent Tory cabinet ministers, including Grant Shapps and Penny Mordaunt, lost their seats to Labour.
  • The Liberal Democrats successfully executed their strategy to breach the Conservative Blue Wall, claiming victories over figures like Alex Chalk and Gillian Keegan.
  • Former Labour leader Jeremy Corbyn retained his seat as an independent candidate.
  • Nigel Farage, leader of Reform UK, secured a parliamentary seat on his eighth attempt.
  • Green Party co-leader Carla Denyer triumphed over Labour’s shadow culture secretary Thangam Debbonaire in Bristol Central.
  • Labour’s shadow paymaster general Jonathan Ashworth lost his seat to an independent candidate.
  • In a notable upset, senior Conservative backbencher Jacob Rees-Mogg was defeated by Labour.

This election night was not just a political upheaval but a testament to the shifting tides of public opinion and the evolving landscape of British politics.

Change begins now’, Starmer says – as Labour win historic landslide

The UK Will Hold its First Election

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *